The Statewide Mutual Risk Management Excellence Awards (RMEA) acknowledge excellence by NSW councils in implementing risk management initiatives. The awards are open to all member councils and exist to:

  • Promote recognition of proactive risk management practices.
  • Raise awareness of risk management challenges across NSW local government.
  • Identify opportunities through innovation in risk management.

Council Categories

In recognition of the different resources and staff effort available between councils two (2) council categories have been established. These are as follows:

  1. Large Regional Councils (population over 30,000) / Metropolitan Councils
  2. Rural/Regional Councils (population less than 30,000) / County Councils

An overall winner for each Council Category will be awarded from the winners of the Project Categories.

Council Categories

Councils who nominate within each category will receive recognition for their entry and commendations will be presented to category winners.

An overall winner for each Council Category will be awarded from the winners of the Project Categories.

Project Categories

  1. Strategic/Enterprise Risk Initiative – excellence for a risk initiative which promotes improvement at a higher/organisational level, addresses risks impacting the organisation as a whole, or relates to organisational decision-making or management planning.
  2. Operational Risk Initiative – excellence for a risk initiative relating to the continuous improvement of operational risk exposures experienced by Council.
  3. Technological Innovation – excellence for a risk initiative utilising technological innovation to foster risk improvement.


Terms & Conditions

  • Only online applications are accepted. The RMEA submission form is available via the Member Centre.
  • There is no entry fee charged
  • Applications with a primary focus on WHS risk initiatives will not be accepted.
  • Applicants must:
    • Include an Initiative title;
    • Nominate the relevant submission category;
    • Ensure that all fields are completed
    • Include a readily identifiable and electronically reproducible council logo;
    • Ensure that all relevant supporting documents are attached.
  • The judging panel will consist of members of the Statewide Mutual Board and the Regional Risk Management team.
  • The judges’ decision is final.
  • Entries close Thursday 21 July 2022 at 5pm. No entries will be accepted after the published deadline.
  • These awards are limited to individual members of Statewide Mutual. Group applications are not accepted.
  • Initiatives, ideas, concepts and programs submitted become public property unless specifically protected by legal condition and notified to us at the time of lodgement.

Please contact your Regional Risk Manager with any questions or requests for support regarding this year’s RMEA.


Please enter below. Entries close 5pm Thursday 21 July 2022




© Copyright 2020 JLT Risk Solutions Pty Ltd – ABN 69 009 098 864 AFS Licence No: 226827